Early Learning Center
OEHS Attendance & Tardy Procedures
Whenever a student will be absent from school, a parent or guardian should call the attendance office at (630) 636-2201 within 24 hours to report the reason for the absence. An absence or tardy that is considered a valid cause, that is reported to the attendance office within 24-hours by the student’s parent/guardian, will be excused. Valid cause is defined by the Illinois State Code as: “illness, death in the immediate family, family emergency, observance of a religious holiday and shall include such other situations beyond the control of the student as determined by the school administration, or such other circumstances which cause concern to the parent/guardian for the safety or health of the student.”
An absence or tardy that is not considered a valid cause, regardless of parent notification, will be marked as an unexcused absence. Unexcused absences and tardiness include, but are not limited to: class cutting, working, missing the bus, oversleeping, shopping, car trouble, personal appointments (ie senior pictures), “skip” days, family vacations, obtaining a driver’s permit or license and other avoidable absences. The consequence for an unexcused absence is one day In-School-Intervention.
When a student is absent, it is his or her responsibility to make up all homework and class assignments that are missed because of their absence. The “Day-for-a-Day” rule applies to absent work for excused absences.
State law and Illinois school code requires schools to maintain accurate attendance records and notify parents when excessive absenteeism occurs. Illinois school code defines excessive absenteeism as 5% of the previous 180 school days. In reality, this means 9 days per school year. State school code also only allows schools to calculate absences as full day or half day absences. Therefore, missing a couple of periods for a doctor’s appointment is counted as a half day absence. Parents may receive letters from the Deans Office if students are over the 5% absenteeism rate. If attendance does not improve, parents may be required to have doctor’s notes to excuse an absence. The last resort for poor attendance is referring the student to the Regional Office of Education truancy officer.
Late to School:
Any time your student will be arriving late to OEHS, please call the attendance office to report the tardy and the reason for the tardy. This will help expedite the process and reduce the amount of class time missed. You do not need to come into the building if you call. Even though you call, the tardy may or may not be excused (see p. 40-43 of the student planner for attendance). For example, students who oversleep, have alarm issues or miss their bus are not excused even if a parent calls. The intent of the policy is to help promote responsibility of being to school on time and therefore maximizing instructional time. Below is a summary of the practice for both high schools and the consequences. The tardies will reset for the second semester.
If a student arrives by 7:25 and is not excused, the student is considered late to school. Missing more than 5 minutes unexcused is considered an unexcused absence for that class. The following shows the consequences for unexcused late arrivals to school based upon the arrival time and class time missed.
7:21-7:25 7:26-8:08 (1 period missed) 8:09 – 4 periods missed
1: warning 1: 1-hour detention 1-2: 2-hour detention
2-3: 1-hour detention 2-3: 2-hour detention 3-4: 3-hour detention
4: 2-hour detention 4-5: 3-hour detention 5+: administrator discretion
5: 3-hour detention 6+: administrator discretion
8+: administrator discretion
Tardies to Class:
Oswego East implemented new procedure for when students are tardy to class during the 2012-2013 school year. OEHS students responded by reducing their tardies by nearly 60% from the 2011-2012 school year. This is incredible news when you consider that each passing period was shortened by one minute last year! When the bell rings, teachers close their doors and begin class. Students who arrive without a pass are directed to get a tardy pass in one of two locations. Student should carry and show their ID in case the staff member issuing tardy passes does not recognize the student. The tardy pass allows the students into class and the office records the tardies. Tardies are counted cumulatively for all periods. There are no consequences for the first three tardies. Most students receive notification from their dean when they receive their third tardy informing them that the next tardy will result in consequences. Tardies 4 & 5 will each result in 1-hour detentions; 6 & 7 in 2-hour detentions, and 8 & 9 in 3-hour detentions. Tardies 10 & 11 each earn one day in the In-School-Intervention room. Any tardies beyond the eleventh tardy are left to administrator discretion for determination of consequences.